Sensory Bottles.

Hey y’all! I hope you had a great weekend. We did! We hit up a camo themed first birthday for Thatcher’s BFF,Wade!

Thatcher helping Wade open presents!

Thatcher helping Wade open presents!

Anyways, this week I was cleaning up Thatcher’s room [which is a daily task] and was very frustrated, as usual. He has tons of toys that he doesn’t really play with and just makes a big mess. I was equally frustrated with that fact that most of his toys are useless. Yes, I said it, useless!! I started doing some research on toy rotation and the Montessori theory of education. I have decided that we are changing things up in our house! More on that later this week ;D

I decided to make some sensory bottles for Thatcher today. It took about 5 minutes to make two bottles and it cost me NOTHING! I had all of the materials on hand.

Discovery Bottles

First, I made an oil and water bottle with blue food coloring.

Ingredients 1

I just filled half of the bottle with water then added canola oil [what I had on hand] to the bottle. It was probably only a quarter of the bottle. Then, I added four drops of blue food coloring so that Thatcher could see the difference of the water and oil.

Oil and Water Bottle

And there you have it folks, a new toy!

Oil Shaker

Next, I filled one with popcorn kernels. This bottle can serve the purpose of a sensory bottle but also be a really cool music instrument for Thatcher to shake. The materials needed for this bottle are a bottle, paper towel and popcorn kernels.

Ingredients 2

First,  dry out the moisture in the empty bottle with a paper towel or two. Then, fill with popcorn kernels. It is that easy!

Popcorn Bottle

You can make sure the bottles are securely shut by hot gluing the lid onto the bottle. I have not done this yet, but it is on my list.

Popcorn Shaker

Have you gotten frustrated with the amount of toys your child has? What have you done about it?

KarenAnn

Leave a Reply

